LPA in Luzon to bring rains

MANILA, Philippines — Twenty-three areas aremunder Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS)  No. 1 as the low pressure area off Surigao del Norte developed into Tropical Depression Lannie, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) reported Monday.

The center of Lannie was spotted 100 kilometers east of Surigao City, Surigao del Norte at 4 a.m.

Moving northwest at 20 kilometers per hour (kph), it has maximum sustained winds of 45 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 55 kph.

The state weather bureau said moderate to heavy and at times intense rains are likely over the Visayas, Bicol region, Mimaropa (Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan),  Calabarzon (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon) and Caraga region until Tuesday morning.

Meanwhile, Metro Manila, Bulacan, Bataan, and the rest of Mindanao may have light to moderate and at times heavy rains.

Lannie will trigger moderate to rough seas over the country’s coastal waters, especially areas under Signal No. 1, in the next 24 hours.

Areas under Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal No. 1 (Strong winds prevailing or expected within 36 hours) are:


-Southern portion of Masbate (Pio V. Corpuz, Cataingan, Palanas, Dimasalang, Uson, Mobo, Milagros, Mandaon, Esperanza, Placer, Cawayan, Balud)

-Southern portion of Romblon (Cajidiocan, San Fernando, Magdiwang, Santa Maria, Odiongan, Alcantara, Ferrol, Looc, Santa Fe, San Jose)

-Southern portion of Oriental Mindoro (Roxas, Mansalay, Bulalacao, Bongabong)

-Southern portion of Occidental Mindoro (Sablayan, Calintaan, Rizal, San Jose, Magsaysay)

-Northern portion of Palawan (El Nido, Taytay, Dumaran, Araceli) including Calamian and Cuyo Islands


-Eastern Samar




-Southern Leyte






-Negros Occidental

-Northern and central portions of Negros Oriental (Bais City, Mabinay, City of Bayawan, Basay, City of Tanjay, Manjuyod, Bindoy, Ayungon, Tayasan, Jimalalud, La Libertad, City of Guihulngan, Vallehermoso, Canlaon City)




-Surigao del Norte

-Dinagat Islands

-Northern portion of Agusan del Norte (Magallanes, Remedios T. Romualdez, City of Cabadbaran, Tubay, Santiago, Jabonga, Kitcharao, Butuan City)

-Northern portion of Agusan del Sur (Sibagat, City of Bayugan, Prosperidad) -Northern portion of Surigao del Sur (San Miguel, Marihatag, San Agustin, Cagwait, Bayabas, Tago, City of Tandag, Cortes, Lanuza, Carmen, Madrid, Cantilan, Carrascal, Lianga)


Subscribe to our daily newsletter

Click here for more weather related news.

Read Next

Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here