The Philippine Council for Agriculture, Aquatic and Natural Resources Research and Development of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST-PCAARRD) last week celebrated its 10th anniversary and accomplishments which it highlighted with conferment of awards and recognitions.

With the theme, “Harnessing the gains of Galing-PCAARRD toward a more resilient AANR sector,” the DOST-PCAARRD conferred the Dr. Elvira O. Tan Award, Best R&D Papers and Ulat Sipag Award. AANR stands for agriculture, aquatic and natural resources.

Dr. Elvira O. Tan Award

Three exceptional published research papers on AANR were conferred with the Dr. Elvira O. Tan Award.

The award pays tribute to Filipino scientists and researchers for their exceptional publication of research and development (R&D) results, which support DOST-PCAARRD’s mission to advance the country’s national economic and food security.

Outstanding Published Paper in Agriculture: University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB) and Cavite State University (CvSU) for the paper, “Growth response of cacao (Theobroma cacao L.) plant as affected by bamboo biochar and arbuscular mycorrhizal fungi in sterilized and unsterilized soil”

The researcher-writer team is composed of Nelly S. Aggangan, Angelbert D. Cortes, and Consorcia E. Reaño.

Outstanding Paper in Aquatic Sciences: University of the Philippines Diliman Marine Science Institute (UP-MSI) and the School of Earth Sciences and Environmental Engineering (SESEE), Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology

The study, “Predicting fish kills and toxic blooms in an intensive mariculture site in the Philippines using a machine learning model,” was undertaken by Aletta Concepcion T. Yñiguez of UP-MSI and Zheina J. Ottong of SESEE.

Outstanding Paper in the Natural Resources and Environment: “Soil C quantities of mangrove forests, their competing land uses, and their spatial distribution in the coast of Honda Bay, Philippines”

The team from Department of Environment and Natural Resources-Ecosystems Research and Development Bureau, University of Southern Queensland and Ateneo de Manila University is composed of Jose Alan A. Castillo, Armando A. Apan, Tek Narayan Maraseni and Severino G. Salmo III.

Best Research and Best Development Paper

Central Mindanao University (CMU) and UP Mindanao garnered the Best Research Paper and Best Development Paper, respectively.

The Best R&D Papers were recognized by the annual National Symposium on Agriculture, Aquatic and Natural Resources Research and Development of DOST-PCAARRD.

Best Research Papers

First place: “Saving the Imperiled Marilog Forests in Southern Mindanao, Philippines: Inventory, Assessment and Conservation for Sustainable Community Utilization” of CMU.

The research established the nursery and re-introduced the seedlings of endangered, endemic, and economically important plants to the forests through the Assisted Natural Regeneration efforts.

The study paved for Mount Malambo of Marilog Forests Reserve to be declared as the Local Conservation Area through a barangay resolution.

Second place: University of Southeastern Philippines for the paper, “Development of Rosanna Banana Disease Surveillance System.”

The research developed a mobile application or app for an agricultural disease surveillance system to gather and disseminate disease-related information at the farm level.

Third place: National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology-UP Los Baños for the paper, “Zinc Biofortification and Growth Enhancement of Rice and Corn using Zinc Solubilizing Bacteria.”

The research demonstrated the utility of zinc-solubilizing microorganisms in harnessing insoluble forms of zinc compounds in the soil. Zinc solubilizing inoculant biofortifies zinc content of rice and corn, making it a promising solution against dietary zinc deficiency.

Best Development Papers

First place: UP Mindanao’s “Giving Farmers uwen fananafedew: Improving Agricultural Extension in Conflict-Vulnerable Areas through the Livelihood Improvement through Facilitated Extension (LIFE) Model.”

The LIFE Model is an extension modality for conflict-vulnerable areas. The program forged 17 memoranda of agreement with local government units and institutions.

Second place: Philippine Carabao Center’s “Sustainable Homegrown Forages and Complete Nutrient Diet Towards Enhancing Growth and Milk Production of Dairy Buffaloes in Nueva Ecija and San Agustin, Isabela.”

The research capacitated participating farmers to produce homegrown forages and prepares complete nutrient diet developed for buffaloes.

Third place: Benguet State University’s “Disaster Risk Reduction of Climate Change Impacts on Vegetable Terrace Farms in Benguet.”

The research capacitated vegetable farmers and officials on disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation and mitigation through science and technology interventions.

Ulat Sipag Award for the media

This year, DOST-PCAARRD awards two major categories: National Print and Broadcast, and Regional Print and Broadcast.

National print awardees

First place: Julio P. Yap, Jr., business editor of the Daily Tribune. This is his fourth consecutive first place win of the award.

Yap also won a special recognition under the regional print category for disseminating articles through the local paper, Panay News.

Second place: Lyn B. Resurreccion, science editor of BusinessMirror

Third place: Glendel D. Nazario, reporter of Manila Bulletin.

National Broadcast awardees

First place: Hermelina C. Tenorio, host of “Syensya Na, Tekno Pa” program of the Eagle Broadcasting Corp.

Second place: Dr. Josephine D. Agapito, host of “Pinoy Scientist” program of the Eagle Broadcasting Corp.

Third place: Annabelle D. Surara, host of “Eat Connect Na” of Eagle Broadcasting Corp.

Regional broadcast awardees

First place: Emil Jun B. Delos Santos “Daniel Castro,” host of “Diskarte ni Daniel Castro” of DZJV 1458 Radyo Calabarzon

Second place: Rose Anne L. Sibag, host of “Kaibigan sa Barangay” of DZJV 1458 Radyo Calabarzon.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here